Delhi MCD Election Results Live: Map

MCD Election Results

The result of the mega battle between the BJP and Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party for control of the unified civic body of Delhi, are being revealed today with the counting of votes. Exit polls have predicted an end of the BJP's 15-year tenure with a sweep by AAP.
Both the AAP and the BJP fielded 250 candidates, while the Congress has 247 in fray. There are 382 Independents contesting as well. Among other parties, Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party contested on 132 wards, the NCP on 26, the Janata Dal (United) on 22, and the AIMIM.
AAP has conducted a gritty campaign in Delhi in the shadow of an alleged scam in liquor policy and corruption cases against its leaders. Weeks before the elections, Delhi's Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia was questioned by the Central Bureau of Investigation.
The BJP, as is its norm, banked on a glitzy campaign, roping in Union ministers and state Chief Ministers and the governance of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. It targeted the anti-corruption image that AAP has been building since its inception with a series of sting videos.
The battle in Delhi comes after a major programme to unify the trifurcated civic body. AAP claimed the BJP was redrawing the wards to ward off defeat. Arguing that it would introduce disparity in population and sizes of the civic administrative units, the party even went to the Supreme Court.
Though the BJP has not won any assembly election in Delhi in 24 years, the party has managed to hold on to the MCD for 15 years.
................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................
Listen to the latest songs, only on