Mavelikkara Assembly Election 2021

Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 20 Lok Sabha segments in Kerala state, goes to the polls in the phase third of general elections 2019 on April 23.

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Kodikunnil Suresh

2016 Kodikunnil Suresh

  • Kodikunnil SureshCong

Kodikunnil Suresh

2021 Kodikunnil Suresh

  • Kodikunnil SureshCong

About Mavelikkara

Kerala's Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency comprises Changanassery, Kuttanad, Mavelikara, Chengannur, Kunnathur, Kottarakkara and Pathanapuram legislative assembly seats. The Kunnathur seat is reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled caste category. 1272751 voters including 2 transgender voters will exercise their franchise this time in the 2019 general election. The voter turnout in Mavelikkara constituency in 2014 election was 70.99%. 9459 votes were given under the NOTA option.

Congress bastion, Mavelikkara constituency will witness 10 contenders in this election fielded by CPI, Bahujan Samaj party, Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) and Bharath Dharma Jana Sena. 5 contestants are contesting this time as independent candidates.

Winning party Congress is fielding the incumbent MP Kodikunnil Suresh, as its contender for the Mavelikkara constituency. He holds a LLB degree from Govt-Law College, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. In 2009, he had succeeded CPI (M)'s CS Sujatha. In the 2014 election, he retained the Mavelikkara seat and brought victory to the party by a margin of 32737 votes defeating his nearest rival CPI's Chengara Surendran.

CPI has nominated Chittayam Gopakumar as its MP candidate to contest for the 17th Lok Sabha.

Bahujan Samaj Party has given ticket to Thollur Rajagopalan for Mavelikkara constituency.

Among other contenders are Thazhava Sahadevan (Bharath Dharma Jana Sena), K. Bimalji (Socialist Unity Centre Of India Communist), Ajayakumar (Independent), Aji Pathanapuram (Independent, Usha Kottarakkara (Independent), Kuttan Kattachira (Independent) and R. Raghavan (Independent).

Get Breaking News and Latest Updates from India and around the world on NDTV.COM
Delhi Election 2020: Follow NDTV for election results and live analysis

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................