Rajnandgaon Assembly Election 2019

Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha constituency is one of 10 Lok Sabha segments in Chhattisgarh, and goes to polls in the second phase of the general elections 2019.  

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Abhishek Singh

2014 Abhishek Singh

  • Abhishek Singh?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgBJP

Santosh Pandey

2019 Santosh Pandey

  • Santosh PandeyBJP

About Rajnandgaon

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP's Abhishek Singh was elected from the Rajnandgaon seat in Chhattisgarh. He received 6,43,473 votes. His closest opponent was Kamleshwar Sharma who received 4,07,562 votes.

There are 8 assembly segments under the Rajnandgaon parliamentary constituency. These are Pandariya, Dongargadh, Khujji, Kawardha, Rajnandgaon, Mohla-Manpur, Khairagadh, and Dongargaon.

In the general elections 2019, Bhola Ram Sahu is Congress's candidate from Rajnandgaon, Ravita Lakra has been fielded by BSP, and Santosh Pandey is BJP's candidate.

In the 1962 general elections, Birendra Bahadur Singh was elected from the constituency on a Congress ticket. This was followed by P Devi winning in 1967 and Ramsahai Pandey in 1971. Both candidates were also from Congress. 

In 1977, Madan Tiwari from BLD was elected to parliament. In 1980 and 1984 Congress's Shivendra Bahadur was elected. In 1989 Dharam Pal was elected on a BJP ticket and in 1991 Shivendra Bahadur was elected on a ticket from the Congress.

In 1996 Ashok Sharma from BJP was elected from the constituency, while in 1998 Moti Lal from Congress won the seat. In 1999 Dr. Raman was elected, and in 2004 Pradeep Gandhi; both candidates were from the BJP.

In the 2007 by-polls Dev Vrat Singh from Congress was elected. In the 2009 general elections, Madhusudan from BJP was elected to parliament from Rajnandgaon.

Get Breaking news, live coverage, and Latest News from India and around the world on NDTV.com. Catch all the Live TV action on NDTV 24x7 and NDTV India. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for latest news and live news updates.

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................