Raigarh Assembly Election 2019

Raigarh Lok Sabha constituency, one of 10 Lok Sabha segments in Chhattisgarh, went to polls in the third phase of the 2019 general elections, on April 23.

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Vishnu Deo Sai

2014 Vishnu Deo Sai

  • Vishnu Deo Sai?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgBJP

Gomati Sai

2019 Gomati Sai

  • Gomati SaiBJP

About Raigarh

In the 2014 general election, Vishnu Deo Sai was elected from Raigarh seat in Chhattisgarh. He contested on a ticket from the BJP and got 6,62,478 votes. His closest opponent was Arti Singh of the Congress who received 4,45,728 votes. This was the fourth consecutive term in parliament for Vishnu Deo Sai.

In the 2009 General Election, BJP's Vishnu Deo Sai had defeated Hridayaram Rathiya of the Congress. Vishnu Deo Sai was elected in 2004 and 1999 too on a ticket from the BJP.

The Raigarh seat was in Madhya Pradesh before formation of Chhattisgarh in 2000. The first Lok Sabha election on Raigarh seat as part of Chhattisgarh was held in 2004.

In the general elections held in 1971, Umed Singh, a Congress candidate, was elected to parliament from Raigarh. In the 1977 elections, Narhari Prasad Sukhdeo Sai from BLD was elected.

In 1980 and 1984, Pushpa Devi Singh from Congress was elected. In 1989 Nand Kumar Sai was elected on a BJP ticket. Then in 1991, Pushpa Devi Singh was again elected on a ticket from Congress. In 1996, Nand Kumar Sai, BJP, returned to parliament from Raigarh. In 1998, Ajit Jogi was elected from Raigarh on a ticket from Congress.

For the 2019 general elections, BJP has fielded Gomati Sai, while Congress has fielded Laljeet Singh Rathia, and BSP has fielded Innocent Kujur.

There are eight assembly segments under the Raigarh Lok Sabha constituency. These include Jashpur Nagar, Kunkuri, Pathalgaon, Lailunga, Raigarh, Sarangarh, Kharsia, and Dharamjaigarh.

Get Breaking news, live coverage, and Latest News from India and around the world on NDTV.com. Catch all the Live TV action on NDTV 24x7 and NDTV India. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for latest news and live news updates.

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................