Indians or people of Indian origin who have won Nobel Prize

New Delhi:  The Nobel Prizes, instituted in 1901, annually honour outstanding contributions to literature, world peace and sciences. Here's a list of Indians or people of Indian origin who have won the Nobel Prize:

1913: Rabindranath Tagore (1861 - 1941) - Nobel Prize for Literature

Tagore remains one of the most important literary figures in India. It is close to 100 years ago that he won the first ever Nobel Prize for India, but his poetry and prose are unparalleled. Tagore wrote and composed the national anthem too. He was awarded the 1913 Nobel Prize in Literature for "Gitanjali," his book of verse.

1979: Abdus Salam (1926-1996) - Nobel Prize for Physics

Born in undivided Punjab and a citizen of Pakistan, and shared a Nobel Prize in Physics in 1979, with Steven Weinberg, for his work on electroweak unification, one of the important puzzles of modern theoretical physics.

1930: Sir C.V. Raman (1888 - 1970) - Nobel Prize for Physics

C V Raman was born in Thiruvanaikkaval, Tamil Nadu. By 11, he had finished school and went on to earn fame for his work in the field of molecular physics. He won the Nobel Prize for Physics for his "RAMAN" effect in 1930.

1968: Dr. Hargobind Khorana (1922 - ) - Nobel Prize for Medicine and Physiology

Dr. Hargobind Khorana was born in Raipur, Punjab (now in Pakistan). Khorana was responsible for producing the first man-made gene in a lab. This won him the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1968, which he shared with Marshall Nuremberg and Robert Holley.

1983: Dr. Subrahmanyan Chandrasekar (1910 - 1995) - Nobel Prize for Physics

Subramaniam Chandrashekhar was born in Lahore, India (later part of Pakistan). He was the nephew of another Nobel winner, C. V. Raman. He won the Nobel Prize in 1983 for his work on stars and their evolution.

1979: Mother Teresa (1910 - 1997) - Nobel Prize for Peace

Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu was born in Skoplje, Yugoslavia (then Turkey). As Mother Teresa she spent a lifetime helping the poor and the sick through the Missionaries Of Charity in Calcutta. She was awarded the Nobel Prize for Peace in 1979.

1998: Dr. Amartya Sen (1933- ) - Nobel Prize for Economics

Born in Bolpur, West Bengal, Amartya Sen won the Nobel for Economics in 1998 for his work in Welfare economics.

2001: V.S. Naipaul (1932- ) - Nobel Prize in Literature

Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul, a British writer of Indian origin who was born in Trinidad, was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2001.

Share this story on

ALSO READKaran Affairs: In Defence Of My Nepotism

................................ Advertisement ................................

................................ Advertisement ................................