LIVE Wayanad Lok Sabha Results

Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 20 Lok Sabha segments in Kerala state, goes to the polls in the third phase of general elections 2019 on April 23.  

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
M.I. Shanvas

2014 M.I. Shanvas

  • M.I. Shanvas?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgCong

Rahul Gandhi

2019 Rahul Gandhi

  • Rahul GandhiCong

About Wayanad

The Wayanad constituency will vote on April 23. Wayanad is among the other constituencies in Kerala-- Kasaragod, Kannur, Vadakara, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Ponnani, Palakkad, Alathur, Thrissur, Chalakudy, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Mavelikkara, Pathanamthitta, Kollam, Attingal, Thiruvananthapuram--to vote in third phase of 17th Lok Sabha election. 

A total of 1325788 voters are expected to exercise their franchise in this constituency, one of the highest in the State after Pathanamthitta, Malappuram and Thiruvananthapuram constituency. In 2014 general election, the voter turnout was 73.25%.

This is third time the Wayanad constituency will vote after its formation in 2008 following delimitation law. In the first two terms, Congress has been representing the seat in the Lok Sabha. M.I. Shanvas, the first MP of Wayanad, died in November 2018. He had won the seat twice. In 2014, he brought Congress party a second term victory in the constituency by defeating CPI candidate Sathyan Mokeri by a margin of 20870 votes. 

This time, Congress is fielding party President Rahul Gandhi as its MP candidate in the Wayanad constituency. Rahul Gandhi will be contesting for the Wayanad seat in 17th Lok Sabha poll against 19 contenders, 10 of which are independent candidates.

CPI, which had the second majority vote counts in 2014 election, is pitting PP Suneer against Rahul Gandhi.

Among regional parties are Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star, Secular Democratic Congress, Bharath Dharma Jana Sena, Social Democratic Party Of India, Agila India Makkal Kazhagam and Indian Gandhiyan Party. 


Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................