LIVE Ponnani Lok Sabha Results

Ponnani Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 20 Lok Sabha segments in Kerala state, goes to the polls in the third phase of general elections 2019 on April 23.  

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
V Abdul Rahman

2014 V Abdul Rahman

  • V Abdul Rahman ?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgIND

E T Mohammed Basheer

2019 E T Mohammed Basheer

  • E T Mohammed BasheerIUML

About Ponnani

One of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Kerala, Ponnani will go to polls on April 23, in the third phase of 2019 general election. The Ponnani Lok Sabha seat consists of Tirurangadi, Tanur, Tirur, Kottakkal, Thavanur, Ponnani and Thrithala legislative assembly seats. 

A total of 1305464 voters are expected to exercise their franchise in third phase of Lok Sabha polls this time, among which are 646044 male voters, 659414 female voters and 6 third gender voters. In 2014 general election, the voter turnout was 73.81%.

Among 18 candidates who had filed their nominations for contesting the Lok Sabha election from Ponnani seat, nominations of 4 have been rejected and 2 have withdrawn it. 12 candidates are contesting from the Ponnani constituency.

Ponnani is the stronghold of Indian Union Muslim League. The party has retained the Ponnani seat since 1977. E T Mohammed Basheer, two-time elected MP from the Ponnani seat, will contest third time in a row. 

In the 2014 general election, V Abdul Rahman (independent candidate) received the second majority vote count. He lost the seat by a margin of 25410 votes. The winning party had received 43.43% of the total votes.

Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Rema for the Ponnani seat.

Among other contenders are Adv. K.C. Nazeer (Social Democratic Party of India), Anwar P.V. Alumkuzhi, P.V. Anvar Puthan Veetil, Anvar P.V. Raseena Manzil, Bindu, Muhammed Basheer Koyissery, Muhammed Basheer Nechiyan, Muhammed Basheer Mangalassery, Sameera PA and Poonthura Siraj.

Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................