LIVE Malappuram Lok Sabha Results

Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 20 Lok Sabha segments in Kerala state, goes to the polls in the third phase of general elections 2019 on April 23.  

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
PK Kunhalikutty

2014 PK Kunhalikutty

  • PK Kunhalikutty?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgIUML

P K Kunhalikutty

2019 P K Kunhalikutty

  • P K KunhalikuttyIUML

About Malappuram

The Malappuram constituency will go to polls on April 23. In the third phase of 2019 general election, 1340547 voters are registered to exercise their franchise, which is one of the highest in the Kerala. 4 of the total electorates are registered under the third gender category. 

The Malappuram constituency consists of Kondotty, Manjeri, Perinthalmanna, Mankada, Malappuram, Vengara and Vallikunnu legislative assembly seats. The constituency was formed in 2008 following the delimitation law. 

The seat has been the stronghold of Indian Union Muslim League. E.Ahamed, the two-time elected MP from the Malappuram constituency died in February 2017. In the 2017 by-election, PK Kunhalikutty was elected to the Lok Sabha from this constituency.

Indian Union Muslim League is fielding the incumbent MP, PK Kunhalikutty, this time. 1951 born PK Kunhalikutty holds a P.G. Diploma in Business Management and is an alumnus of the Aligarh Muslim University. He entered into politics as a student under the umbrella of MSF (Muslim Students Federation).

Eight candidates are contesting for the Malappuram seat this time, which includes 3 independent candidates. 

Among other contenders are Unnikrishnan (Bharatiya Janata party), Adv. Praveen Kumar (Bahujan Samaj Party), Abdul Majeed Faizy (Social Democratic Party Of India), Abdul Salam K.P, Nissar Methar and Sanu N.K. 

VP Sanu, the National President of the Students' Federation of India, the student’s wing of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) is also contesting for the Malappuram seat.

In the 2014 general election, E.Ahamed defeated CPI (M) candidate P.K.Sainaba by a margin of 194739 votes.

In 2014 election, the voter turnout in this constituency was 71.21%.


Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................