LIVE Ernakulam Lok Sabha Results

Erankulam Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 20 Lok Sabha segments in Kerala state, goes to the polls in the third phase of general elections 2019 on April 23.  

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey Thomas

2014 Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey Thomas

  • Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey Thomas?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgCong

Hibi Eden

2019 Hibi Eden

  • Hibi EdenCong

About Ernakulam

The Erankulam Lok Sabha constituency consisting of Kalamassery, Paravur, Vypen, Kochi, Thripunithura, Eranakulam and Thrikkakara legislative assembly seats will go to polls on April 23. Kerala is among the few States voting in a single phase. The seven-phase Lok Sabha polls will be held till May 19. The poll results will be released on May 23. 1209440 voters are expected to exercise their franchise in this constituency which had a voter turnout of 73.58% in 2014 general election. 8 out of the total electorates are registered under third gender category.

The constituency has around 40 per cent minority votes, majority of which are from the Latin Catholic community.

Congress bastion, Ernakulam constituency has seen independent candidates winning with Left Democratic Front support. Ernakulam sitting MP is Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey Thomas from the Indian National Congress. 

This time Congress is fielding Hibi Eden, the 35 year old sitting legislator, as its MP candidate from Ernakulam constituency. 

The BJP is fielding Union Tourism Minister KJ Alphons against the Congress's two-time legislator Hibi Eden from the central Kerala district.

13 candidates are contesting for the Ernakulam seat this time among which 4 are independent candidates.

Among other contestants are V M Faizal (Social Democratic Party Of India), Rajeev Nagan (Ambedkarite Party of India), Abdul Khader Vazhakkala ( Samajwadi Forward Bloc), Adv Vivek K Vijayan (Rashtriya Samaj Paksha), Shajahan Abdulkhadar (Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star).

Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................