Mahasamund Assembly Election 2019

Mahasamund Lok Sabha constituency, one of 10 Lok Sabha segments in Chhattisgarh, went to polls in the second phase of the general elections 2019, on April 18.

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Chandu Lal Sahu

2014 Chandu Lal Sahu

  • Chandu Lal Sahu?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgBJP

Chunni Lal Sahu

2019 Chunni Lal Sahu

  • Chunni Lal SahuBJP

About Mahasamund

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Chandu Lal Sahu of the BJP was elected from Mahasamund seat in Chhattisgarh. He got 5,03,514 votes. His closest opponent was Ajit Jogi from Congress who received 5,02,297 votes.

Mahasamund has been a Congress stronghold. In the 1951 general election, the seat went to Shodas Daga from Congress. In the 1952 by-polls it went to M. Bagdi from KMPP.

The seat was then won by Congress's Vidyacharan Shukla in 1962, 1964 by-polls, 1967, and 1971 polls. In the 1977 general elections, Brijlal Sharma from BLD was elected.

In 1980 and 1984 Vidyacharan Shukla returned to parliament from Mahasamund on a Congress ticket. In 1989 however, Vidyacharan Shukla was elected on a Janata Dal ticket.

Then in 1991 and 1996 Pawan Diwan was elected on a Congress ticket. In 1998, Chandrashekhar Sahu was elected on a BJP ticket. In 1999 Shyama Charan and in 2004 Ajit Jogi was elected. Both candidates were from Congress. The seat went to BJP's Chandu Lal Sahu in 2009.

There are 8 Assembly segments under the Mahasamund Lok Sabha Constituency. These include Saraipalli, Mahasamund, Kurud, Basna, Rajim, Dhamtari, Khallari, and Bindranwagadh. 

For the general election 2019, Chunni Lal Sahu is BJP's candidate, Congress has fielded Dhanendra Sahu and Dhansing Kosariya is BSP's candidate.

Get Breaking news, live coverage, and Latest News from India and around the world on Catch all the Live TV action on NDTV 24x7 and NDTV India. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for latest news and live news updates.

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................