Nawaz Sharif Admits Pak Violated 1999 Lahore Agreement With India: "It Was Our Fault"

  • 3:14
  • Published On: May 29, 2024
Cinema View

Former Pak Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on May 28 confessed that Islamabad breached the 1999 Lahore Declaration with India. The latest admission from Nawaz Sharif comes while he was addressing an event that coincided with the 26th anniversary of Pakistan’s nuclear test. Nawaz Sharif said that Pakistan 'violated' the peace agreement with India signed by him and Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 1999. Sharif’s statement comes at a time when bilateral relations between India & Pakistan have hit new lows. 

Following Pakistan’s nuclear test in 1998, India and Pakistan signed the Lahore Declaration, which aimed to thaw bilateral relations. The agreement talked about a vision of peace and stability between the two countries. However, just a few months later, Pakistani intrusion in the Kargil district in J&K led to the Kargil conflict. 

Related Videos

Nawaz Sharif's Explosive India Admission, Wall Street Speeds Up Trading After Century And More
May 29, 2024 26:07
Pak Admits Violating Agreement With India, Nawaz Sharif Says "Our Fault"
May 29, 2024 4:01
Top Headlines Of The Day From Across The Globe: May 29, 2024
May 29, 2024 2:24
Pak PM Shehbaz Sharif Resigns As His Party's Chief, Nawaz Sharif Set To Assume Role
May 14, 2024 1:11
PM For 2nd Time, Pakistan's Shehbaz Sharif Faces An Even Tougher Task
March 04, 2024 0:31
Nawaz Sharif, Bilawal Bhutto's Parties Strike Deal On Pak Coalition Government
February 21, 2024 2:20
Pakistan Parties Reach Power-Sharing Agreement
February 21, 2024 23:19
At Midnight Meet, Shehbaz Sharif, Bilawal Bhutto Seal Power-Sharing Deal
February 21, 2024 0:44
Pakistan Poll Official Resigns, Accepts "Wrongdoing" In Elections
February 17, 2024 1:06
Shehbaaz Sharif To Return As Pak PM: Bhutto Kingmaker, Imran Real Winner?
February 16, 2024 13:49
Bilawal Bhutto Withdraws From Pak PM Race, To Support Nawaz Sharif's Party
February 13, 2024 2:30
Our Offerings: NDTV
  • मध्य प्रदेश
  • राजस्थान
  • इंडिया
  • मराठी
  • 24X7
Choose Your Destination