Know Your MPs

Candidate details compiled by ADR
The counting of votes for the Lok Sabha election will take place today. The seven-phased election is the world's biggest democratic exercise as around 90 crore people were eligible to vote in the general election - an increase of around 9 crore compared to the election in 2014. All the rounds of polling saw big turnouts.

The first phase of Lok Sabha elections on April 11 saw a voter turnout of 69.43 per cent. Sixty six per cent turnout was recorded in both the second phase (April 18) and the third phase of polling (April 23). The overall voter turnout in the fourth phase of the national elections (April 29) stood at 64 per cent. The fifth phase of polling, held on May 6, saw 57.33 per cent turnout. The voter turnout in phase 6 was 63.3 per cent. The last round saw 62.87 per cent turnout.

Most of the exit polls are giving a clear edge to the BJP. The opposition, however, is hoping for a turnaround.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the BJP had got full majority by winning 282 of 543 seats in the lower house of parliament. The exit polls suggest that the party may win more seats this time.The poll of polls, an aggregate of exit polls, say the party may cross the tally of 300. The Indian National Congress may win more seats than last time, but it won't be enough, the polls say.

The two regional parties that had shone in the previous national elections were West Bengal's Trinamool Congress and Tamil Nadu's AIADMK. In Bengal, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress had won 34 out of 42 seats. The AIADMK, led by late J Jayalalithaa, won 37 out of 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The exit polls say Trinamool Congress will get 26 of 42 seats and the BJP will move to double digits at 14 - from two the last time. In Tamil Nadu, the DMK-Congress may emerge as the biggest alliance with 26 seats, the poll said.

In Uttar Pradesh, the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party alliance may get 29 seats, whereas the BJP may get 49 seats, poll of polls predicted.

The names of winners 2019 will be revealed after the counting is completed. The list of latest MPs will be updated.

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................