Delhi Primary Schools Shut Till March 31 Over Coronavirus: AAP Government

All government, aided, private, MCD and NDMC schools will remain closed till March 31 to prevent the possibility of spread of coronavirus among children.

All primary schools in Delhi have been asked to remain close tillMarch 31.


  • All Delhi government-aided and private schools will be shut
  • The move was aimed at preventing spread of coronavirus
  • 30 persons have tested positive for coronavirus in India
New Delhi:

All primary schools in Delhi will be closed till March 31 as a precaution against the spread of coronavirus, the city government said on Thursday. All Delhi government, aided and private schools will be shut immediately, said state Education Minister Manish Sisodia.

Mr Sisodia, who is also Deputy Chief Minister, tweeted that the move was aimed at preventing "the possibility of spread of COVID-19."

In India, 30 persons have tested positive for coronavirus, including 16 Italian tourists.

Amid rising cases, Prime Minister Narendra Modi today cancelled his visit to Brussels for an India-European Union (EU) summit, which will be rescheduled.

Fourteen of the 16 infected Italian tourists are quarantined in Delhi. They were a part of a group of 23 Italians that traveled to Rajasthan last month. One of them - currently in Jaipur - tested positive on Tuesday; his wife also tested positive. This is the biggest group in the country to be infected with the coronavirus.

PM Modi had tweeted yesterday that he would not participate in any Holi events this year. "Experts across the world have advised to reduce mass gatherings to avoid the spread of COVID-19 Novel Coronavirus. Hence, this year, I have decided not to participate in any Holi Milan programme," he wrote. Union Home Minister Amit Shah also tweeted an appeal to "everyone to avoid public gatherings" and said that he, too, would not participate in any Holi events.

India has now stepped up preventative measures including barring visitors from Italy, Iran, South Korea and Japan, except diplomats and officials from international bodies. The Union Health Ministry has advised people not to travel to China, Iran, South Korea and Italy. It has also asked all citizens to avoid non-essential travel to other affected nations.

The coronavirus outbreak originated in China's Wuhan in December and has spread to over 60 nations, killing more than 3,000 people and infecting over 90,000.