Election 2019


2019 Lok Sabha Elections: 95 Seats Vote Today, All Of Tamil Nadu, Half Of Karnataka - 5-Point Guide

Lok Sabha elections in 38 of 39 seats of Tamil Nadu, 14 of 28 seats in Karnataka and one seat in Puducherry are being conducted today.


Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha elections: Actor-turned-politician Rajinikanth cast his vote in Chennai.

Chennai/Bengaluru:  More than half of the 95 seats voting in the second round of Lok Sabha elections today are in Southern India, representing nearly nine crore voters. People in 38 constituencies of Tamil Nadu, 14 of the 28 in Karnataka and the lone seat in Puducherry began queuing up early on Thursday in the second phase of the mammoth, seven-round general election in which opposition parties are trying to stop Prime Minister Narendra Modi from winning a second term. The main opposition Congress party and its allies need to win big in the southern states if they hope to oust the BJP.
Here is your 5-point guide to what is at stake in this key battle:
  1. Karnataka is mostly a two-sided contest between the BJP and the ruling Congress-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) coalition. Congress leader Siddaramaiah and JDS supremo HD Deve Gowda, who have shared a rocky equation for over 15 years, campaigned together this time in their attempt to pitch a united front against the BJP.
  2. The ruling alliance is grappling with resentment among its workers over seat-sharing agreement that have eaten into the two parties' share of constituencies. An adverse result could impact the longevity of the coalition government in the state.
  3. It is much more complex in Tamil Nadu which has a four-cornered contest. The ruling AIADMK-led alliance including the BJP and a host of smaller state parties are up against a coalition led by its longtime rival DMK that includes the Congress and the Left. The AIADMK spin-off TTV Dhinakaran's AMMK or Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam and actor-turned-politician Kamal Hassan's MNM or Makkal Needhi Maiam are the two other parties.
  4. Tamil Nadu is also holding by-elections for 18 assembly constituencies most of which the ruling AIADMK must win in order to stay in power. It is also the first election in several decades when the two main parties don't have their iconic leaders J Jayalalithaa, who died in 2016 and M Karunanidhi, who died in 2018.
  5. The elections in Tamil Nadu are once again mired in allegations of voters being bribed. The election in the Vellore Lok Sabha constituency was cancelled after a huge haul of cash.

Constituencies voting in Phase 2 Lok Sabha Polls 2019

India votes | the 2019 roadmap
Seats Voting today
April 18, 2019
Tamil Nadu38/39Arakkonam, Arani, Chennai Central, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chidambaram, Coimbatore, Cuddalore, Dharmapuri, Dindigul, Erode, Kallakurichi, Kancheepuram, Kanniyakumari, Karur, Krishnagiri, Madurai, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Namakkal, Nilgiris, Perambalur, Pollachi, Ramanathapuram, Salem, Sivaganga , Sriperumbudur, Tenkasi, Thanjavur, Theni, Thoothukkudi, Tiruchirappalli, Tirunelveli, Tiruppur, Tiruvannamalai, Viluppuram, Virudhunagar, Tiruvallur
Karnataka14/28Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi Chikmagalur, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandya, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkballapur, Kolar, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Bangalore Rural
Maharashtra10/48Akola, Amravat, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Buldhana, Hingoli, Osmanabad, Latur, Solapur
Uttar Pradesh8/80Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, Fatehpur Sikri, Nagina, Amroha, Mathura, Agra
Bihar5/40Banka, Kishanganj, Katihar, Bhagalpur, Purnia
Odisha5/21Aska, Bargarh, Bolangir, Sundargarh, Kandhamal
Assam5/14Mangaldoi, Karimganj, Silchar, Nawgong, Autonomous District
Chhattisgarh3/11Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, Kanker
West Bengal3/42Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Raiganj
J&K2/6Srinagar, Udhampur
Manipur1/2Inner Manipur

Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on ndtv.com/elections. Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

NDTV Beeps - your daily newsletter

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................