Tirunelveli Assembly Election 2021

Tirunelveli Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 39 Lok Sabha segments in Tamil Nadu state, goes to the polls in the second phase of general elections 2019 on April 18.

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
KRP Prabakaran

2016 KRP Prabakaran

  • KRP PrabakaranADMK

Gnanathiraviam S

2021 Gnanathiraviam S

  • Gnanathiraviam SDMK

About Tirunelveli

In Tirunelveli Lok Sabha constituency, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK, also known as ADMK or AIDMK)'s KRP Prabakaran defeated Devadasa Sundaram of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) during the general elections 2014 with a margin of 1,26,099. Mr. Prabakaran was polled 3,98,139 votes while his opponent Mr. Sundaram bagged 2,72,040 votes.

M R Janarthanan from AIADMK is the most successful Member of Parliament (MP) in the history of this constituency, which he represented four times - in 1984, 1989, 1991 and 1999.

AIADMK is the most successful political party in Tirunelveli Lok Sabha constituency as it had won 7 of the last 11 elections since 1977. Congress had won the seat five times.

Swatantra Party (in 1967) and Communist Party of India (1971) won the constituency once each.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, S Gnanathiraviam of DMK will face former MP and AIDMK's organising secretary P H Manoj Pandian. T T V Dhinakaran led- Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam or AMMK has fielded Michael Rayappan.

Tirunelveli parliamentary constituency is one such constituency where arch-rivals - the ruling AIADMK and the opposition DMK - will face off in the general elections 2019. Apart from Tirunelveli, both the parties will be in a straight contest in South Chennai, Kancheepuram (SC), Tiruvannamalai, Mayiladuthurai, Salem, Nilgiris (SC) and Pollachi.

The Tirunelveli Lok Sabha constituency consists of following 6 assembly segments: Tirunelveli, Palayamkottai, Alangulam, Ambasamudram, Nanguneri, Radhapuram.

Get Breaking News and Latest Updates from India and around the world on NDTV.COM
Delhi Election 2020: Follow NDTV for election results and live analysis

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................