Sivaganga Assembly Election 2021

Sivaganga Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 39 Lok Sabha segments in Tamil Nadu state, goes to the polls in the second phase of general elections 2019 on April 18.

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
P R Senthilnathan

2016 P R Senthilnathan

  • P R SenthilnathanADMK

Karti Chidambaram

2021 Karti Chidambaram

  • Karti ChidambaramCong

About Sivaganga

In the 2014 General elections, the Sivaganga seat in Tamil Nadu went to AIADMK's P. R. Senthilnathan who received 4,75,993 votes. His closest opponent was Dhurai Raaj Subha from DMK who received 2,46,608 votes. 

In the Lok Sabha elections held in 1967 and 1971, Kiruttinan from DMK was elected to the lower house of the parliament. In 1977, P. Thiagarajan from AIADMK was elected from Sivaganga seat. 

After this Sivaganga remained a Congress stronghold for quite some time. In 1980, R. Swaminathan was elected on a Congress ticket. R. Swaminathan was elected to parliament in 1971 and 1977 as well but from the Madurai seat in Tamil Nadu. 

In 1984, 1989, 1991, 2004 and 2009 General Elections P. Chidambaram was elected from Sivaganga on a Congress ticket. He was also elected in 1996 and 1998 but on TMC (M) ticket. In 1999, E. M. Sudarsan Natchiappan from Congress was elected. 

There are six assembly segments under the Sivaganga Lok Sabha constituency. These are Tirumayam, Tiruppattur, Karaikudi, Alangudi, Manamadurai, and Sivaganga. 

For the General Elections 2019, Karti Chidambaram is contesting on a Congress ticket, K. Saravanan is contesting on BSP ticket and H. Raja is BJP's candidate. A total of 26 candidates are contesting Lok Sabha elections from Sivaganga.

Get Breaking News and Latest Updates from India and around the world on NDTV.COM
Delhi Election 2020: Follow NDTV for election results and live analysis

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................