Email This to Friend(s)

Gujarat Rajya Sabha Election LIVE: Congress Says Ahmed Patel Re-Elected For Fifth Term After Tough Fight
Aug 08, 2017 09:42:35 (IST)
In West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress is guaranteed a win for the five candidates it has nominated as they are unopposed. While four Trinamool Congress members are due to retire from the Rajya Sabha on August 18, the party has increased its tally in the current election by one seat to take its tally to five. The Trinamool Congress has re-nominated sitting lawmakers Derek O'Brien, Sukhendu Sekhar Roy and Dola Sen, while nominating Shanta Chhetri and Manas Bhunia for the first time. They all are guaranteed a win. Congress has re-nominated Pradip Bhattacharya who is also guaranteed a win as he is unopposed. CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury though was not re-nominated for a third consecutive term.

Send this Story to:

(max. 10 recipients)

Separate multiple addresses with commas (,)

Your Name:

Add a personal message:

Maximum 500 chars