Email This to Friend(s)

Gujarat Rajya Sabha Election LIVE: Congress Says Ahmed Patel Re-Elected For Fifth Term After Tough Fight
Aug 08, 2017 10:35:04 (IST)
The six who resigned can't vote and that has brought the strength of the 182-seat Gujarat Assembly down to 176. Each of the four candidates contesting today has to win 45 first preference votes - which means they have to be the first preference of 45 Gujarat legislators. 45 of the BJP's 121 MLAs will choose Amit Shah as their first preference, 45 will choose Smriti Irani, and the remaining 31 will choose Balwantsinh Rajput. The Congress has 51 legislators in the assembly, including Shankersinh Vaghela, who announced he was exiting the party two weeks ago but remains a legislator. The Congress has issued a whip or formal order for all its legislators to vote for Ahmed Patel warning that defiance will attract career-altering penalty. But at least six of these 51 are known loyalists of Shankersinh Vaghela, believed to be the author of the Congress rebellion, and the party is not counting on them at all. They were not among the MPs who were flown to Bengaluru for safe-keeping.

Send this Story to:

(max. 10 recipients)

Separate multiple addresses with commas (,)

Your Name:

Add a personal message:

Maximum 500 chars