Email This to Friend(s)

Presidential Election 2017 Highlights: Ram Nath Kovind vs Meira Kumar; Voting Ends
Jul 17, 2017 10:52:49 (IST)
Presidential Election 2017: Here are 5 important facts

1) Voting Time: 10 am to 5 pm

2) Polling Booth in Parliament : Room No. 62, Parliament of India

3) Total Number of MPs and MLAs (Members of the Electoral College for Presidential Election, 2017) is 4896. It includes 776 MPs and 4120 MLAs. Narottam Mishra, BJP MLA from Madhya Pradesh, has been disqualified from voting in the Presidential election. So the actual number of MPs and MLAs who can vote today is down to 4895. The full list is available here.

4) The Election Commission has permitted 41 Lok Sabha MPs and 14 Rajya Sabha MPs to vote in State Legislative Assemblies. 5 MLAs including BJP chief Amit Shah have been permitted to cast their vote in Parliament. 4 MLAs have been allowed to vote in other State Legislative Assemblies.

5) Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra, who is also the Returning Officer of Presidential election, is scheduled to address a media briefing at 6:30 pm today in the Parliament's committee room No. 63.

Send this Story to:

(max. 10 recipients)

Separate multiple addresses with commas (,)

Your Name:

Add a personal message:

Maximum 500 chars