Madhya Pradesh polls: 2,884 candidates file nominations on last day

Bhopal As many as 2,884 candidates, including Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, former Union Minister Suresh Pachouri and Industries Minister Kailash Vijaywargiya, filed their nominations on the last day today for the November 25 state Assembly elections.

Since November 1, the day when the filing of nominations started till last day (today) a total of 4,894 candidates have filed their nominations from the 230 Assembly seats in the state, official sources said.

The nominations will be scrutinised tomorrow, while the last date for withdrawal of nominations is November 11.

Mr Chouhan has filed his nominations from two seats, Budhni and Vidisha. From Budhni, he had filed his papers earlier, while from Vidisha he submitted his nomination papers today, the sources said.

Vijaywargiya has filed his nomination from Mhow in Indore district; Pachouri from Bhojpur in Raisen district; Apex Bank Chairman Bhanwar Singh Shekhawat from Badnawar in Dhar district and Mahendra Singh Chouhan from Budhni in Sehore district.

Meanwhile, a report from Indore quoting BJP General Secretary In-charge of Madhya Pradesh, Anant Kumar, said that the party will manage the dissidents within next two-three days and the BJP will contest the polls united.

"The party is aware of the reports of dissidence over the distribution of tickets and I am hopeful that in the next two-three days it will be managed and the party will contest the polls unitedly," Kumar who accompanied Vijaywargiya when the latter filed his nomination papers told reporters.

Story First Published: November 08, 2013 23:59 IST

................... Advertisement ...................

From the Newsroom