Kerala: CPI finalises candidates for Lok Sabha polls

Kerala: CPI finalises candidates for Lok Sabha polls
Thiruvananthapuram:  CPI, the second largest partner in the CPI(M) led LDF, has finalised candidates in the four seats it is contesting in Kerala.

Former member of Public Service Commission and a prominent member of the Church of South India Bennet P Abraham has been named as the candidate for Thiruvananthapuram.

Party sources said Mr Abraham's name was cleared despite objections from several members of CPI-M'S state executive and state council.

Chengara Surendran (Mavelikara), C N Jayadevan (Thrissur) and Sathyan Mokeri (Wayanad), are the other candidates.

The party state committee met in Thiruvananthapuram yesterday and gave approval to the candidate list.

LDF is meeting later in the day to finalise the list of candidates after which a formal announcement would be made, sources said.

LDF has allotted Kottayam seat to JDS in which Mathew T Thomas, presently MLA from Thiruvalla assembly constituency will be the candidate.

Share this story on

ALSO READ'Cheers, Robert Vadra' Said Email, Inquiry Expands To Dubai
................... Advertisement ...................