Elections 2014: Uttar Pradesh to vote in six phases

Elections 2014: Uttar Pradesh to vote in six phases
Lucknow:  Uttar Pradesh, which elects the maximum of 80 members to the Lok Sabha, will see polling spread over six days in April-May.

The Election Commission said balloting will take place in the sprawling state April 10, 17, 24 and 30 and May 7 and 12.

Neighbouring Uttarakhand will go the polls May 7.

The chief electoral officer of Uttar Pradesh said with Wednesday's election announcement in New Delhi, the model code of conduct had come into effect.

All announcements, events and other political activities in the state will now be under the poll panel's scanner.

In the outgoing Lok Sabha, the Congress and the Samajwadi Party have 22 members each from Uttar Pradesh, the Bahujan Samaj Party has 21, the Bharatiya Janata Party 10 and the Rashtriya Lok Dal has five members.

Share this story on

ALSO READChina's Elevated Bus May Just Be the Niftiest Solution to Traffic Jams
................... Advertisement ...................