Shashi Kant Sharma will be the next Defence Secretary

New Delhi Shashi Kant Sharma, a 1976 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer from Bihar cadre, will be the new Defence Secretary for a two-year term when Pradeep Kumar retires this month end, Defence Ministry sources said on Thursday.

Sharma, now Secretary for Financial Services in the Finance Ministry, has previously served in the Defence Ministry as Director General (Acquisition).

MR Pradeep Kumar will take over as the Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC).

The Appointments Committee of Cabinet has cleared Sharma's name as Defence Secretary, officials said.

An MSc in administration science, Sharma served in the Defence Ministry for six years in various roles.

He may be appointed as Officer on Special Duty (OSD) in the Defence Ministry in the rank and pay of Secretary with immediate effect and till he takes over as Defence Secretary.

Meanwhile, Shekhar Agarwal, a 1977 batch IAS officer, took over as the new defence production secretary.

He replaced Raj Kumar Singh, who earlier this month took over as the Home Secretary in place of Gopal Krishna Pillai.

Agarwal was special secretary in the department of ex-servicemen welfare in the defence ministry before being assigned the department of defence production.

Having vast experience in home, finance and personnel administration ministry, Agarwal has worked in all core areas of the governments, both at the centre as well as the state.

He was Special Secretary in the Defence Ministry for the last three-and-half years before assuming the new appointment.

Story First Published: July 07, 2011 20:42 IST

................................ Advertisement ................................