Cop assaulted by MLAs deposes before Maharashtra House panel

Cop assaulted by MLAs deposes before Maharashtra House panel
Mumbai A police officer, who was assaulted by around 10-12 MLAs in the Maharashtra legislature complex, today deposed before a House committee probing the incident.

Assistant Police Inspector Sachin Suryavanshi appeared before the seven-member panel headed by senior-most member of the state assembly Ganpatrao Deshmukh of Peasants and Workers Party.

Mr Suryavanshi's deposition lasted for about 90 minutes, assembly officials said. However, what transpired during the deposition was not immediately known.

MLAs Kshitij Thakur of Bahujan Vikas Agadhi and Ram Kadam of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), who were arrested in connection with the assault on the officer, and security staff of the House will also appear before the committee, the officials said.

Mr Suryavanshi, who was escorted to the House by personnel from the police department, did not respond to media queries while leaving the premises.

Home Minister RR Patil had last week suspended Mr Suryavanshi for "misbehaving" with Mr Thakur and ordered the constitution of a panel to probe the entire episode.

Mr Suryavanshi, attached to the Worli police station, was thrashed by a group of MLAs outside the visitor's gallery at the state's legislature complex on March 19, a day after he had stopped Mr Thakur's vehicle on Bandra-Worli Sea Link for speeding and slapped a fine.

The House had later suspended five MLAs - Ram Kadam (MNS), Jaykumar Rawal (BJP), Kshitij Thakur (Bahujan Vikas Agadhi), Rajan Salvi (Shiv Sena) and Pradeep Jaiswal (Independent) - for their alleged involvement in the assault.

Story First Published: April 01, 2013 18:42 IST

................................ Advertisement ................................