Gujarat elections: Heavyweights in first phase of voting

Gujarat elections: Heavyweights in first phase of voting
Gandhinagar:  The first phase of the Gujarat assembly elections today will decide the fate of several heavyweights from the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the opposition Congress and Keshubhai Patel's Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP).

Today's voting puts to test GPP chief and Narendra Modi's rival Keshubhai Patel, Assembly Speaker Ganpat Vasava, Gujarat BJP president RC Faldu, state Congress president Arjun Modhwadia and Leader of the Opposition Shaktisinh Gohil.

State ministers Vajubhai Vala, Vasuben Trivedi, Narottam Patel, Mangubhai Patel, Purshottam Solanki, Kiritsinh Rana, Dilip Sanghani, Kanubhai Bhalala, Mohan Kundaria and Ranjit Gilitvala are also in the fray in some of the 87 constituencies where votes are being cast.

Congress leaders Vithhal Radadia, Kunvarji Bavalia and Somabhai Patel too are contesting.

The BJP has put up candidates in all the 87 constituencies, the Congress in 84 and the GPP in 83. The second phase of the voting for the remaining 95 seats will be held on December 17. The results will be declared on December 20.

(With inputs from PTI)

Story First Published: December 13, 2012 09:17 IST

................................ Advertisement ................................